Asia Trip 2015 – Sleepless In Hong Kong

Chinese might say that 04/04 is not a lucky number and it could be true – I was very unlucky today.

The flight from Sydney to Hong Kong was delayed and the connecting flight from Hong Kong to Taipei left without me. 😦 Apparently, it was also the last flight for the day to fly over the channel. I was stranded in Hong Kong for the night with just my passport and a wallet in my bag.

This is part of the fun of traveling – dealing with problems on the go, regardless how well I thought my plans were. 🙂 I actually have never been left stranded with no luggage before. I started to look forward to see what else could go wrong now.

The airline put me in the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel (I gave it 5 stars for the facility and the service!) for 5 hours. It was 12am when I checked in. I planned to watch some movies but after a hot shower, I fell into sleep. 😃

5 hours went quickly and before I knew, I was woken up by the front desk and on my way back to the airport. I have not been in Hong Kong for at least 5 years. I had lots good memories here (mainly the great food! 😃) and I still don’t like the humidity. I didn’t expect to queue up for food this early in the airport though. I walked around the airport for some excise and then hogged on the free wifi. I’m now ready to arrive in Taipei and meet the rest of the travel gang!

–§–

Related Stories:

3 Replies to “Asia Trip 2015 – Sleepless In Hong Kong”

Leave a Reply

