Road Trip WA 2016 – Valley of the Giants

The Tree Top Walk 600-metre walk has a gentle gradient, suitable for children and all ages, including wheelchairs and strollers.

A walk trail links the Tree Top Walk to the Ancient Empire boardwalk where you can get up close and personal to the 400-year-old giants of the forest.

This is the first time I come to the Tree Top Walk in Western Australia.

The Tree Top Walk is located at the Valley of the Giants. Don’t you just love the name! Whenever I saw the name, I always had the image of the Ent from the Lord of the Rings in my mind.

The Valley of the Giants’ website contain good information about the place and everything else related to it. Head over there if you would like to plan for a trip too.

I enjoyed my walk at the top. Although, I don’t think one should be on this walk if one is not comfortable with heights. The walking path wave slightly when a few people walk on it with unsynchronised steps. It was pretty fun for me! It sounded like the waves in the ocean when the wind blew pass – the trees started dancing and I could hear them whispering in our ears! I wonder what stories they would tell after standing there for 100s of years.

The Ancient Empire boardwalk is a 20 minute walk under the Tree Top Walk. It was certainly a different view from the bottom up! I could really appreciated the height of the Giant Tingle Trees (Eucalypts) from the ground – like the giant protectors of the forest. The air was crisp and sun shone through the branches. I’ve read that it’s a quite busy touristy attraction but we must have missed ALL the tourist groups! We gladly enjoyed the quietness and serenity of being one with the forest – it was such a magical feeling! I’ve learned so much from the stories left along the walkways describing the trees, the eco-system and the surrounding area. I was sure that I could easily spent an hour there, wandering around and marvel the lives in the forest. I strongly suggest everyone to take a trip there when in the area!

–§–

Related Stories:

6 Replies to “Road Trip WA 2016 – Valley of the Giants”

Leave a Reply

