Azure Spring Cleaning

I’m doing some Project Euler problems to brush up my coding skills – see if I still have got it. Just like riding a bicycle years later, I think years of training in the past had not left me yet. Just like cleaning up and oiling the old bicycle, I found myself trying to setup the coding environment again.

It’s been a few years since I’ve used my Azure Virtual Machines (VM) that were setup for coding. Most of the resources were in the classic pools. First thing first, start up the VMs one by one to see if the logins are still working. Do not start them all in case the account notifications go crazy – they are not free! I deleted the VMs that I could not logon and created some with the latest products such as Visual Studio 2017 and Windows 10. I’m impressed with the variety of Azure VM template options – there is the popular WordPress and even Linux operating systems.

The new, compare to the classic, version of the Azure dashboard takes a bit of time to get used to. The dashboard options can be a bit overwhelming to a user who is unfamiliar with the tools. One can always switch to the classic dashboard if unsure.

There are some options that only exist in the classic dashboard, e.g. move subscriptions between Azure Active Directories (AAD). I had one subscription transferred from an old email. I created a new AAD and put all my subscription under it as a way of centralise all accounts and controls for my Azure resources.

The geek in me is feeling the excitement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

